

Vote Number 2009/32

Date of Vote: 16th July 2009

Billet d'État: XXII of 2009

Article:

Department/Committee: Requête signed by Deputy M. M. Lowe and

17 other Members of the States

Subject: Dispute with Airport Fire-fighters –

Establishment of Tribunal

Propositions: 1 and 2

After consideration of the Requête, dated 29th June, 2009, signed by Deputy M.M. Lowe and seventeen other Members of the States:-

- 1. That it is expedient that a Tribunal be established under the provisions of the Tribunals of Inquiry (Evidence) (Guernsey) Law, 1949, as amended, to inquire into a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, the facts and circumstances leading up to and surrounding the industrial action taken by the Airport Fire Fighters at Guernsey Airport in May 2009, including the circumstances in which that industrial action was resolved.
- 2. That the Terms of Reference for the Tribunal shall be
 - a. to inquire into the circumstances leading up to and surrounding the industrial action taken by the Airport Fire Fighters at Guernsey Airport in May 2009, including the circumstances in which that industrial action was resolved,
 - b. to examine the actions and omissions of Departments and Committees of the States of Guernsey, relevant statutory bodies, other organisations and responsible individuals concerned in the dispute that led to the industrial action being undertaken and the steps that were taken to resolve it, with a view to identifying any lessons to be learned by the States of Guernsey,
 - c. to make such recommendations as may be considered appropriate,
 - d. to deliver a report on its findings to the Presiding Officer of the States of Deliberation as soon as practicable.

CARRIED Pour: 26 Contre: 7 Abstained: 8 Not Present: 6

St. Peter Port South		Castel		
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	C	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	P	
Deputy Carla S. McNulty Bauer	A	Deputy A. Hunter Adam	Α	
Deputy Jennifer M. Tasker	C	Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley	P	
Deputy Roger Domaille	P	Deputy Sean J. McManus	A	
Deputy Allister H. Langlois	A	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P	
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher	C	Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet	P	
•		Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett	N	
St. Peter Port North				
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	West		
Deputy R. Rhoderick Matthews	P	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P	
Deputy Carol A. Steere	P	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P	
Deputy Martin J. Storey	N	Deputy Marc S. Lainé	C	
Deputy Jack Honeybill	N	Deputy Shane L. Langlois	P	
Deputy Leon R. Gallienne	N	Deputy Peter R. Sirett	P	
Deputy Michael W. Collins	P	Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen	P	
St. Sampson		South-East		
Deputy Peter L. Gillson	P	Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	A	
Deputy Samantha J. Maindonald	P	Deputy Francis W. Quin	P	
Deputy Scott J. Ogier	N	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	P	
Deputy Ivan F. Rihoy	P	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	P	
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	P	Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage	N	
Deputy T. Jane Stephens	A	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	C	
Vale		Alderney		_
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	A	Alderney Representative Richard C	•	
Deputy Geoffrey H. Mahy	A	Alderney Representative William V	Walden	C
Deputy Anthony Spruce	P			
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	P			
Deputy Graham Guille	P			
Deputy David B. Jones	P			
Deputy Andrew R. Le Lièvre	P			