

## *Vote Number 2008/11*

Date of Vote: 25th September 2008

Billet d'État: XII of 2008

Article: 13

Department/Committee: Requête signed by Deputy M. J. Fallaize and

22 other Members of the States

Subject: Grants and loans for students attending

courses of higher and further education off-

island

## **Proposition:**

Whether, after consideration of the Requête, dated  $23^{rd}$  June, 2008, signed by Deputy M. J. Fallaize and twenty-two other Members of the States, they are of the opinion: -

- 1. That the system of States financial assistance towards the tuition and maintenance costs of students attending courses of higher and further education off-island shall continue as at present until the end of the academic year commencing in September 2011.
- 2. To approve the additional funds required for the Education Department's total revenue budget in order that the ring-fenced Higher Education Budget be increased annually in line with demand until the end of the academic year commencing in September 2011.
- 3. To direct the Education Department to review the existing scheme and report back on it to the States in 2011, or sooner if there is significant change in the funds needed for the existing scheme.
- 4. To rescind Resolution 3 on Article XI of Billet d'État XXII of 2007.

## **CARRIED Pour: 34** Contre: 10 Abstained: 0 Not Present: 3

	Castel		
C	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	P	
C	Deputy A. Hunter Adam	P	
C	Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley	P	
P	Deputy Sean J. McManus	P	
P	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P	
C	Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet	N	
	Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett	P	
P	West		
P	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P	
P	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P	
P	Deputy Marc S. Lainé	P	
C	Deputy Shane L. Langlois	P	
C	Deputy Peter R. Sirett	C	
P	Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen	P	
	South-East		
P	Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	P	
P	Deputy Francis W. Quin	P	
P	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	P	
P	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	P	
N	Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage	C	
P	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	P	
	Alderney		
P	· ·		P
C	Alderney Representative William	Walden	N
P	•		
P			
C			
P			
P			
	C C P P C C P P P P P P P C C C P P P P	Deputy A. Hunter Adam Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley Deputy Sean J. McManus Deputy Barry J. E. Paint Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett  West Deputy Alvord H. Brouard Deputy David de G. De Lisle Deputy Marc S. Lainé Deputy Shane L. Langlois Deputy Peter R. Sirett Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen  South-East Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen  South-East Deputy Francis W. Quin Deputy Francis W. Quin Deputy Robert W. Sillars Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley  Alderney Alderney Alderney Representative Richard Calderney Representative William	C Deputy Mark H. Dorey P Deputy A. Hunter Adam P Deputy Thomas M. Le Pelley P Deputy Sean J. McManus P Deputy Barry J. E. Paint P Deputy Bernard M. Flouquet N Deputy Michael G. G. Garrett P  West Deputy David de G. De Lisle P Deputy Shane L. Langlois P Deputy Shane L. Langlois P Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen P  South-East Deputy Gloria P. Dudley-Owen P  South-East Deputy Michael G. O'Hara P Deputy Robert W. Sillars P Deputy Janine M. Le Sauvage C Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley P  Alderney Alderney Alderney Representative Richard G. Willmott Alderney Representative William Walden