2017/115



# Date of Vote: 14<sup>th</sup> December, 2017

Billet d'État:	XXIV of 2017
Article:	13
<b>Proposition No.:</b>	P.2017/115
Committee:	States' Trading Supervisory Board and The
	Committee for the Environment & Infrastructure
Subject:	Waste Strategy Implementation – Household
	Charging Mechanisms
<b>Proposition type:</b>	Propositions 1 to 7 (as amended)

- 1. To rescind Resolution 2a) of 10<sup>th</sup> December 2014 on Article X of Billet d'État XXVI of 2014, to the extent that it directs the preparation of legislation necessary to give effect to proposals:
  - a) that relate to the period from which the Parish Waste Rate will apply and within which it is payable and the calculation of any penalty of late payment as set out in paragraphs 3.17, 3.20 and 3.21; and
  - b) for the calculation and levying of the Waste Disposal Authority waste charges, as set out in paragraphs 3.32 to 3.61,

of the report dated 22<sup>nd</sup> September, 2014 of the former Public Services Department.

- 2. To approve that in relation to the Parish Waste Rate:
  - a) the rate may be levied on and from the first day of the year to which it relates or the date of the granting of the Royal Court Order authorising the levying of the rate, whichever is later and that once the Order is granted the rate may be levied in respect of any period of the year;
  - *b) a fixed penalty charge of £25 per month or interest at 10% per annum (whichever is higher) can be levied in the event of late payment;*
  - c) payment must be made within 30 days of an invoice and unpaid debts, including interest, will be recoverable by the Parish Douzaine as a civil debt; and
  - *d)* such transitional arrangements shall be made as are appropriate in relation to the transition from the current refuse rate.
- 3. To agree that the Waste Disposal Authority charge for households will comprise:
  - a) a charge per residual waste bag to be levied on the sale of official States of Guernsey tags or bags and with a zero rated charge initially for bags or other receptacles used for recyclables; and
  - b) an annual fixed charge per household and per business, the premises of which is admitted into the parish waste collection and transfer service, to be-



2017/115

- (i) calculated for the year in question to recover the projected total costs to the Waste Disposal Authority and the States of providing waste management services, minus the projected income derived from the per bag charge on residual waste and any financing under Proposition 4, and
- *(ii) divided equally between all persons liable to pay the charge.*
- 4. To direct the Committee for the Environment & Infrastructure and the States' Trading Supervisory Board to consult with the Policy & Resources Committee and return to the States as soon as possible with proposals for financing all or part of the capital elements of the waste strategy from the Capital Reserve and to repay all or part of any borrowing incurred so far in this respect.
- 5. To agree that the owner(s) of:
  - a) a dwelling or a lodging house; and
  - b) any business, the premises of which is admitted into the parish waste collection and transfer service,

will be the person liable to pay the Parish Waste Rate for households, but with a right for the owner of a dwelling house, lodging house or business to recover the Parish Waste Rate levied from the current occupier as a civil debt as set out in paragraphs 6.5 and 6.15 of the Policy Letter.

- 6. To direct the preparation of such legislation as is necessary to give effect to their above decisions.
- 7. To direct the States' Trading Supervisory Board and the Committee for the Environment & Infrastructure, when returning to the States as directed by Proposition 4, to provide a range of options relating to the per bag charge on residual waste, including an option that zero-rates the annual fixed charge.





# **CARRIED:** Pour: 25

#### Contre: 11 Ne vote pas: 1 Absent: 3

## **St. Peter Port South**

#### Deputy Peter T. R. Ferbrache Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher Deputy Dawn A. Tindall Deputy Barry L. Brehaut Deputy Rhian H. Tooley

#### St. Peter Port North

Deputy John A. B. Gollop	
Deputy Charles N. K. Parkinson	
Deputy Lester C. Queripel	
Deputy Michelle K. Le Clerc	
Deputy Marc P. Leadbeater	
Deputy Joseph I. Mooney	

### St. Sampson

Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	Р
Deputy Paul R. Le Pelley	Р
Deputy Jennifer S. Merrett	Р
Deputy Gavin A. St Pier	Α
Deputy T. Jane Stephens	Р
Deputy Carl P. Meerveld	Р

#### Vale

Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	Α
Deputy Neil R Inder	С
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	Р
Deputy Laurie B. Queripel	С
Deputy Jeremy C. S. F. Smithies	Р
Deputy Sarah T. Hansmann Rouxel	P

# Castel

С

C P

Р

Р

Р P C P

C C

Deputy Richard H. Graham	С
Deputy Christopher J. Green	Р
Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	С
Deputy Mark H. Dorey	Р
Deputy Jonathan P. Le Tocq	Α
West	
Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	Р
Deputy Andrea C. Dudley-Owen	Р
	Р
Deputy Emilie A. Yerby	<b>Г</b>
Deputy Emilie A. Yerby Deputy David de G. De Lisle	r P
	•
Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P

# Ladi I D

Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby	Р
Deputy H. Lindsay de Sausmarez	Р
Deputy Peter J. Roffey	Р
Deputy Robert G. Prow	С
Deputy Victoria S. Oliver	С

# Alderney

Alderney Representative Louis E. Jean	Р
Alderney Representative S. D. Graham McKinley, OBE	Ν