

## *Vote Number 2013/45*

Date of Vote: 25th September, 2013

Billet d'État: XV of 2013

Article: 16

**Department/Committee:** Requête

Subject: Clarification of the Responsibility and

Accountability of the Civil Service to the

**Political Boards and Committees** 

Propositions: 1-7 (as amended)

"1. To confirm that chief officers are, inter alia, responsible for implementing policy formulated by the committees which they are appointed to serve, but that, when making policy decisions, committees of the States are subject always to the primacy of direction by the States acting by Resolution.

- "2. To confirm that the Chief Executive is responsible for the line management of chief officers.
- "3. To approve of the Chief Executive, when appraising a chief officer, continuing to afford an opportunity to the chairman of the committee concerned to advise as to its members' views.
- "4. To confirm that the Chief Executive is, inter alia, responsible for structuring and organising the civil service and this should be discharged in accordance with all relevant Resolutions of the States.
- "5. To direct the Policy Council to take into account the prevailing view of the States is that the 'Executive Leadership Team' should be renamed the 'Chief Executive's Management Team'.
- "6. To direct that, where appropriate, there should be internal service level agreements within the States of Guernsey, including in respect of services provided by the Shared Transaction Service Centre ("the Hub"), in order to provide for clear definition of responsibilities and clear lines of accountability.
- "7. To direct that when the States Review Committee reports to the States it shall make proposals designed to ensure that the structure of the civil service and titles of officers (such as "Chief Executive" or "States Supervisor") are consistent with the organisation of States affairs which the Committee will recommend be adopted with effect from 2016."

## **CARRIED:** Pour: 42 Contre: 4 Abstained: 0 Not Present: 1

C4. D-4 D4 C4b		G4-1			
St. Peter Port South	n	Castel	D		
Deputy Peter A. Harwood	P P	Deputy Christopher I. Croop	P P		
Deputy Jan Kuttelwascher		Deputy Christopher J. Green			
Deputy Barry L. Brehaut	P P	Deputy Mark H. Dorey	P P		
Deputy Roger Domaille	P P	Deputy Barry J. E. Paint	P P		
Deputy Allister H. Langlois	P P	Deputy Jonathan P. Le Tocq	P P		
Deputy Robert A. Jones	P	Deputy Sandra A. James MBE Deputy A. Hunter Adam	P P		
St. Peter Port North		T			
Deputy Michelle K. Le Clerc	P	West			
Deputy John A. B. Gollop	P	Deputy Roger A. Perrot	C		
Deputy Peter A. Sherbourne	P	Deputy Alvord H. Brouard	P		
Deputy Richard Conder	P	Deputy Arrun M. Wilkie	P		
Deputy Martin J. Storey	N	Deputy David de G. De Lisle	P		
Deputy Elis G. Bebb	P	Deputy Yvonne Burford	P		
Deputy Lester C. Queripel	P	Deputy David A. Inglis	P		
St. Sampson		South-East			
Deputy Gavin A. St. Pier	P	Deputy Heidi J. R. Soulsby	P		
Deputy Kevin A. Stewart	P	Deputy Robert W. Sillars	P		
Deputy Peter L. Gillson	P	Deputy Paul A. Luxon	P		
Deputy Paul R. Le Pelley	P	Deputy Michael G. O'Hara	P		
Deputy Scott J. Ogier	P	Deputy Francis W. Quin	P		
Deputy Lyndon S. Trott	P	Deputy Michael P. J. Hadley	P		
Vale		Alderney			
Deputy Matthew J. Fallaize	P	Alderney Representative Louis E	tative Louis E. Jean C		
Deputy David B. Jones	P		ey Representative Louis E. Jean  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C  C		
Deputy Laurie B. Queripel	C	Ademey Representative E. I auf	Aiditti	C	
Deputy Mary M. Lowe	P				
Deputy Andrew R. Le Lièvre	P				
Deputy Anthony Spruce	P				
Deputy Garry M. Collins					
Debiliy Garry M. Collins	P				